RSS

The Great Dish of Pierogies

02 Apr

Pierogies sounds something like, “Pyeh-roh-gyee,” and they’re delicious.

The box of frozen pierogies had several varieties of instructions on how to prepare them. These in particular had cheese and potatoes on the inside (but mostly potatoes.)

I took it upon myself to sauté the pierogies, which turned out to be an easy process, and added green bell peppers to the mixture. I would’ve added onions but had a friend who I didn’t think cared for onions coming over.

Later I thought that I should grate some cheese and add to the top of the pierogies, and that proved to be a good idea.

One thing about cooking that bothers me is how I can haphazardly decide to make something and have it turn out amazingly, but man, I can plan to do something, measure all ingredients out exactly, and then majorly fail in the worst sort of way.

Deborah Madison, as the Julia Child of vegetarian cooking, inspires me by reminding me of one simple fact that will forever be my mantra in the kitchen:

“Cooking is not an exact science.”

Speaking of science, I want to try to break down cooking into a science and put the essential ingredients to it on here one day…if that’s possible.

Beaux

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 2, 2011 in food, postaday2011, recipes, sides, snacks

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “The Great Dish of Pierogies

  1. athursdayschild has a long way to go and much to be thankful for.

    April 2, 2011 at 8:04 pm

    I will go to the kitchen with one thing in mind, but it ends up being something else entirely….not a bad thing. These look great.

     
    • enamouredslave

      April 2, 2011 at 10:06 pm

      You’re an adventurer, then, living spontaneously! Isn’t it wonderful to have that kind of experience with the kitchen? The phrase, “Let go and let God” might aptly apply here.

       

Leave a Reply

 
