RSS

Memoirs of a Coffee House 14: The Phenomenon of Wired and My Life

17 Apr

In posting this blog, exactly two weeks worth of the total entries in my blog will deal with Wired, which is something to celebrate but also makes me think I should bring the entries to a close.

Lily continued having financial problems, and miracles continued happening. We thought many times over that Wired would be saved and endure throughout the ages. Once, when I was standing with Mary, I remember thinking of Wired closing and mentioning it to her, and she said she couldn’t handle thinking about it at that time. This was, of course, a projection into the future: not something that would happen in only a few months.

Then came another miracle: MT-TV.

MT-TV was an all-female rock band from Great Britain. Seriously. Their bus had broken down, and a few of them were sitting in Waffle House when Haley and Patsy Random ran into them and mentioned the coffee house to them.

Good grief, where can I began to start to explain MT-TV? Suddenly the coffee house crawled with fifteen women from Britain, speaking with their fantastic British accents, and they were all marvelous, intelligent, and gorgeous!

But the real happening took place when they finally readied themselves and performed. MT-TV was not a local band; they had professionally performed across Europe for years. They were the real deal.

The name MT-TV means, “Empty TV,” which the lead singer explained referred to the lack of quality of program on TV and how the youth of the day were going mind dead because of it.

Not having formal training in music, I can’t categorize exactly what kind of music MT-TV played, except to say it was a dark kind of rock with interesting vocals.

And they rocked. They rocked ReWired in a way that we had never been rocked before.

I happen to have a great love for the “extras” in life. By “extras,” I mean the small things that we otherwise wouldn’t miss but do add a good bit of charm to a situation. In this case, the ladies from Britain did, in fact, take tea, and this is where I learned of taking tea with milk. I specifically remember one of the managers making tuna sandwiches for tea one day, and it was a difficult process, since there were 15 women in the band, in addition to the managers!

MT-TV performed at ReWired twice before getting a permanent gig at one of the local bars in town (which one, I can’t remember.) I was at both shows and totally lost myself in the music; the lot of us went crazy to the primal beats and songs.

MT-TV has, at this point, disbanded, but Patsy Random teamed up with two of the members of MT-TV and formed a new band called Syren, which also produces high quality music.

Then came the fall of ReWired. We knew it was over. We knew there was no more money, and that things could not keep going as they were. The time had come for Lily to close her doors, regretfully, but she was considering another place downtown that would not cost as much.

So came the Halloween Party of 2005, which was the best night that ever happened at ReWired. Lily shut the place down, there was a costume contest, everyone’s mood was elated, we all kinds of delicious food to eat, and everything seemed just so perfect. This was no different than if we had set fireworks on top of the building and shot them into outer space time and time again.

Then I saw ReWired as I had seen it before so long ago, with our moving furniture out, emptied of whatever glory it had, and a slow movement to the downtown café that would eventually become known as Lale.

Several of us visited Lale to help work on it; we were enthusiastic and hopeful about it, and then when it finally sorted out and opened, it was a restaurant, not a coffee house, and things simply weren’t the same. This was not by Lily’s doing; she wanted a coffee house, but she was not the one providing the money in this case, and her investors were the ones who determined that it would be a Mediterranean café.

So that’s the story of ReWired and my life. Much, much more happened that I can’t detail here because of simply how exhaustive I could be. ReWired definitely influenced me in a way that few other places did, mainly because the people were so different, so unique, and that we had to all try to get along and learn lessons in life from one another.

The Sufi says that while one is encouraged to have a Guru or a Sheikh, that is, one needs a teacher to guide one to God, that ultimately life is the greatest teacher, and I can say without a doubt that ReWired taught me more than I had bargained for.

Everyone still misses it. The coffee house has now been closed longer than its doors were ever open, yet we dream and hope and pray for it over and over.

I’ve had dreams many times over that I was back in Wired, inside its doors, that it was open once again and that we could all meet there again. Disheartening to wake up in the morning and discover that yes, that was all but a dream!

Once, on the way to my friend Courtney’s house, I stopped at the broken building of ReWired. I touched the door, I touched the wall, and I vehemently did not care if someone stopped to ask what I was doing; this was my agenda, this was what I was going to do, and nobody was going to stop me.

I wrote a small poem and slipped it under the door to the building, telling Wired that I still believed in it, that I still understood, and that it was not all in vain.

Since that era, Pat’s Diner has been bull-dozed. She went out of business not long after Wired closed, and Wired was bought by a car rental company. Now cars are parked all through the area, including through where Pat’s Diner used to sit. Karma, I tell you. Karma!

Lale, too, has closed, and Lily moved to a different state.

So the legacy of Wired lives on, beats in the veins of those who essentially lived there, driving us forward, teaching us something new again and again as we remember things and laugh and cry at the memories we have of each other and ourselves. But if nothing else, Wired went out with a bang, a blast, and if nothing else, Wired gave me the voice I need to speak up, to say what I want to say, beholden to no one, not caring what other people think when I provide my opinion about Wired and exactly what I think about the people in the area who didn’t like it and conspired against it.

Now I will leave you with the last few pictures of Wired I have. The pictures consist of some bands: Mortu-Fairy, Patsy Random and the Random Family, a couple of bands I couldn’t identify, and Christopher working on building the extended stage

AUTHOR’S NOTE: I forgot to upload the pictures. Look for them in the near future.

Beaux

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 17, 2011 in coffee house, food, postaday2011

 

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “Memoirs of a Coffee House 14: The Phenomenon of Wired and My Life

  1. erinbennettmusic

    June 2, 2016 at 7:25 am

    Its a real pleasure to accidentally happen upon this article. And it was an even greater pleasure to be an integral part of ReWired’s history and the atmosphere than used to swoop down and carry away the worries of so many of Dothan’s youths and adults alike.
    I remember every gig I did at ReWired and have some rather embarrassing stories and photos alike!

    But I really appreciate your story here. ReWired was where I started and will forever be my home. It would be great to connect with Lily again as she was the first venue owner to believe in me, book me and watch me grow.

    Thank you for he mention and the walk down memory lane.
    Yours,

    Erin Bennett (aka Patsy Random)
    http://www.erinbennettmusic.com

     

Leave a Reply

 
