RSS

Penne and Seven Cheese Sauce with Lobster: Beaux’s Spur-of-the-Moment Mealtime

24 Apr

Earle and I made our traditional trip to Publix on Friday night after taking a hiatus for some two weeks or so. The last dinner I made from Publix turned out to be delicious, and the one before that was slightly disastrous.

Last night, I did the absolute best I’ve ever done at Publix! Here’s what I bought:

  • 1 large organic sweet onion- $1.11
  • 1 container of Blue Cheese crumbles – $2.50
  • 1 bag of shredded Italian 6 cheese mix- $2.99
  • 1 pack of imitation Lobster meat- $2.99
  • 2 boxes of Penne (on sale!)- $1.39
  • Total: $11.97 (including tax)

We also bought a pint of milk, the exact amount needed to make the cheese sauce.

So, here’s what I did:

  1. I boiled 1 box of penne and added another 1/4 box to it. Unfortunately, I spilled that 1/4 of the box into the sink when draining it.
  2. I chopped the onion and sauteed it in butter until it began to caramelize, at which time I added the lobster meat. You can also use crab meat, and no matter what you use, I recommend using two packs instead of one.
  3. I removed the onion and lobster mix from the wok and then added 3 Tablespoons of butter and the pint of milk, heating it just below boiling, and then adding the blue cheese and the pack of Italian six cheese.
  4. After the sauce warmed and thickened with the melting cheese, I added the lobster and onions back to the mix, followed by the penne.
  5. The meal turned out to be pretty good after all was said and done, though it needed salt and pepper (but what doesn’t?)
  6. Also, I sprinkled bacon bits (the soy kind) on top of the mixture, too.

My apologies for the lack of pictures; for whatever reason, I just never got around to taking a picture of the food.

If you eat meat, this dish would be great with bacon in it; the bacon bits added a good flavor to it and tend to go with seafood.

Carpe Diem!

Beaux

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 24, 2011 in dinner, food, postaday, postaday2011, recipes, seafood

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Penne and Seven Cheese Sauce with Lobster: Beaux’s Spur-of-the-Moment Mealtime

  1. Gigi

    April 24, 2011 at 9:06 pm

    Sounds delicious….

     
    • enamouredslave

      April 24, 2011 at 10:25 pm

      Believe me, it was, and I regret not grabbing some to bring home with me, especially since it was super-cheap to make.

       

Leave a Reply

 
