RSS

Grits: A New Trick!

29 Apr

Somehow, last night possessed me to make grits. My father made some and messed them, and Bapaw’s sad bowl of grits inspired me to try a new trick I learned.

Instead of using water to make grits, one should try using milk.

Low and behold, the grits turned out to be magnificent!

I used instant grits for my recipe.

What you need:

  • two packages of plain instant grits or the equivalent amount of not-instant grits
  • 1 cup of milk
  • 1 teaspoon of butter
  • salt
  • pepper

Heat the milk to just below boiling; add the butter and allow it to melt. Add the grits and stir profusely, removing from heat.

Add salt and pepper to taste. In my case, I use a great deal of pepper; otherwise, these grits were too sweet for me.

Normally, I’ve made grits only using water. However, the milk does the trick and makes them fluffier, the way grits are supposed to be. Dry grits are not fun- trust me on that.

Also, remember that the grits will thicken as they cool!

They’re definitely a great Southern treat.

Beaux

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 29, 2011 in food, postaday2011

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Grits: A New Trick!

  1. athursdayschild has a long way to go and much to be thankful for.

    April 29, 2011 at 8:36 pm

    I had grits (with water) for lunch today, but I added shredded cheese, celtic sea salt, and just a wee amount of butter, and they were very tasty.

     
    • enamouredslave

      April 30, 2011 at 5:08 pm

      Hey, that DOES sound tasty. I should try it sometime!

       

Leave a Reply

 
