RSS

Beaux’s Own Creation: Sandwiches Galore

03 May

In truth, I love sandwiches. Sandwiches happen to be one of the most versatile and easily made foods available. Sandwiches can be savory, sweet, salty, soft, crunchy- the various combinations are virtually endless. I say virtually as I’ve run into some thresholds with sandwiches that I never wish to cross again.

These days, I’m eating a kind of sandwich that requires potato chips and cole slaw. I may have mentioned this before. Crushed potato chips, coleslaw, and perhaps a slice of processed cheese (guilty of breaking my own standards!) come together on bread (usually white bread) to form an interesting sandwich.

But it gets better- I’m using barbecue potato chips. Yes, barbecue potato chips. That makes the mixture even better.

I bet a piece of baked tilapia on the sandwich would make it absolutely perfect.

Now that the Spring is really in full gear in the South (which means it feels like Summer), tomatoes are in season and come to us more easily. For a while there, they were extremely high in price, so I didn’t bother with the tomatoes.

But soon, the Tomato Festival will come to my hometown, and I’ll be blogging about all kinds of dishes made with tomatoes, including the ever-popular tomato sandwich that apparently Harriet the Spy also enjoyed.

Speaking of Harriet the Spy, that book also had a huge influence on my world as a writer, though my “spy” books never lasted long- I had nobody worth spying on and nothing to record on that matter, though I do remember trying this for a while.

A movie was made of Harriet the Spy in the 90s that essentially modernized the story and changed some aspects of it- including removing Harriet’s glasses and choosing Rosie O’Donnell to play Ole Golly. But as much as I love her, Ole Golly’s character, in the book, was not a happy, cuddly, kid-friendly person- she was often stern with Harriet and quite a bit older.

But that’s Nickelodeon for you.

Anyway, the reason Harriet the Spy came to mind is because the fact that she eats a tomato sandwich everyday for lunch is constantly mentioned in the book, even to the point where she one day debate about taking a ham sandwich instead. (No, Harriet, go for the tomato!)

Also, Bapaw gave me some strange crackers with extremely strong cheese in them today. I should have gotten a picture of those to show everyone and let them know the evils of them.

Beaux


 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 3, 2011 in food, postaday2011

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Beaux’s Own Creation: Sandwiches Galore

  1. The Onyx Plate

    May 14, 2011 at 2:36 pm

    I agree that potato chips make a sandwich so much better! Try making potato chip encrusted Tilapia, and then putting it on a french bread sandwich with ur homemade tartar sauce….delicious!

     
    • enamouredslave

      May 14, 2011 at 5:17 pm

      …I saw “potato chip encrusted Tilapia,” and my mouth started watering…

       

Leave a Reply

 
