RSS

BLT: More on Sandwiches

15 May

BLT stands for “Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato.”

To a foreign reader, this may sound mysterious, because part of the equation is left out. Most BLTs I’ve eaten in my life have been eaten on toasted bread and not just on regular bread, and also with mayonnaise.

As a child, I really liked BTs- the lettuce seemed superfluous. Why on earth would anyone eat lettuce in addition to something yummy like bacon and tomato?

But now I can see the kind of flavor that lettuce adds to the mixture, so I understand why it’s important.

Bacon sandwiches are also popular in the U.K., as I understand it, where not only can they include tomatoes and lettuce but also cucumbers, cheese, and a fried egg. Talk about a complete meal on a sandwich!

That being said, if one is using “fake” bacon, especially of the Morning Star variety, under no circumstances should you prepare it in the microwave. I have tried, several times, to cook Morning Star Bacon in the microwave to no avail. Do not believe the packaging; it lies. You must cook Morning Star Bacon in a skillet- there is no other way.

Also, BLTs include mayonnaise. This is a fact of life. But then again, perhaps a sandwich almost always includes mayonnaise, so this could go without saying.

Either way, now that tomatoes are becoming plentiful and we have spicy lettuce and Morning Star Bacon, I’ve been rolling out with the BLTs.

It also comes to mind that on the camera there are pictures of pierogies that I prepared and never put on the computer or wrote about, so that may be forthcoming in the next week. The major concern I have at the moment is thinking of making more cheese, which I may have to do for Gigi’s sake so she can see the process.

So, how does Beaux make his BLT? Pretty simple:

  • I toast bread- in this case, plain white bread.
  • Each slice eats about a half a teaspoon of mayonnaise- this varies from person to person, though. Gigi isn’t fond of mayonnaise, for instance.
  • I fry up the Morning Star Bacon. This takes about five to eight minutes on medium heat.
  • One slice of tomato for each sandwich.
  • Lettuce on top of the tomato.
  • Salt and pepper.

Though I praise the virtues of mayonnaise thees days, there was a time when I did not. Mayonnaise once tasted horrible to me every time I ate it- almost rancid. I had been sick or something, and I suppose that attacked my sense of taste for the next several months.

These days, my relationship to mayonnaise is all about figuring out how to enhance its natural flavor- so that means making tartar sauce, curry flavored mayonnaise, and so on.

Anyway, it’s BLT season- go have one.

Beaux


 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 15, 2011 in food, postaday2011, sandwiches

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “BLT: More on Sandwiches

  1. Gigi

    May 15, 2011 at 9:23 pm

    Here is a plug….Hellman’s Mayonnaise is the ONLY mayo that I ever use or ever plan to use again. Because I do Not like mayo but it is a necessity sometimes, I have found that H. just tastes the best and of course wouldn’t you know, it is also the most expensive of all types that I have ever seen in markets….

     
    • enamouredslave

      May 15, 2011 at 9:26 pm

      Sometimes I think there’s truth in the notion that you get what you pay for, but then, we can also potentially go the route of making our own mayonnaise which may ultimately be more cost effective. An egg separator may be necessary for that.

       

Leave a Reply

 
