RSS

Cream of Mushroom Soup versus Cream of Potato Soup: Substitutions

16 May

Gigi went crazy with her Cream of Mushroom Soup bonanza a few years ago and effectively destroyed my younger brother’s taste for it in any form.

While I write this, I’m actually cooking a tuna casserole in the oven using Cream of Mushroom Soup.

I am here to tell everyone that a much better soup to use instead of Cream of Mushroom Soup is Cream of Potato Soup.

Yes, ladies and gents, Cream of Potato Soup essentially accomplishes the SAME feat as Cream of Mushroom Soup but tastes much better and seems to be generally more versatile. Cream of Potato Soup isn’t quite as rich as Cream of Mushroom Soup- and that makes all the difference, in my humble little Southern opinion.

My brother recounts the time of Bapaw saying how we could “just add little Cream of Mushroom Soup to it for flavor” and how he cringed at these words. I honestly don’t blame him. In cooking, we have to be careful not to lean on a crutch for certain kinds of flavor. Really good food doesn’t always take a lot of time but often does, and we should always remember that. Half the fun of eating is in the cooking.

Beaux


 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 16, 2011 in food, postaday2011

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Cream of Mushroom Soup versus Cream of Potato Soup: Substitutions

  1. Gigi

    May 18, 2011 at 9:26 pm

    Have you noticed that I seldomly ever use cream of mushroom in foods that I prepare now? However, I was unaware that your brother had such an aversion to it……

     
    • enamouredslave

      May 19, 2011 at 5:03 pm

      Well, the cream of mushroom soup used to be really good back in the day. I think you used to make a kind of chicken casserole (that I no longer eat, obviously) with it that I really enjoyed. My brother probably just got burnt out on it back in the day, but I think he might still cringe.

       

Leave a Reply

 
