RSS

Big Coffee

18 May

So the Onyx Plate posted an interesting article on Facebook earlier about coffee and its health benefits, especially for men. I had previously heard that coffee is good for the liver but had not heard that it also makes for a healthy prostate gland.

The article also mentioned, as we later discovered, something about coffee helping to reduce certain kinds of breast tumors.

Anyway, I drink a lot of coffee. My family drinks a lot of coffee. This is no accident and goes back through the generations. If I can blame anyone for my current addiction to caffeine, I would point to my grandparents on both sides of the family and then my own parents. Carboholism may be genetic, but coffee addiction is both genetic and conditioned. My great-grandparents may have drunk coffee often, too, I’m not sure.

My paternal grandmother always had coffee brewing in her house, 24/7, as I understand it, and I mentioned this before, as did some of my commenters, when I wrote about the Lazy Susan Table and its legacy in my family. My maternal grandmother always drank coffee in the morning and enjoyed having cake with it. Elsewhere, I’ve mentioned this, too- but it’s good to have a reminder, don’t you agree?

So the whole process of turning me into a coffee addict began with my being scared as a child. I was frightened often as a child and honestly still am by some of the oddest things that I won’t detail right now, so I would end up getting up and going to the den to sit with my father while he watched a local morning show that Red Holland, a local fishing celebrity, hosted. I would sit in Bapaw’s lap and drink his coffee, which featured milk and sugar in it.

This is where a huge contradiction occurs. Bapaw loves his coffee with cream and sugar. These days, to be healthier, he puts honey in it, but honey doesn’t really work for me. Gigi refuses to drink anything but a straight-up dark brew. No sweet coffee for her.

Personally, I like my coffee both ways, depending on my mood. Most often I seem to take coffee with cream but no sugar, and I especially prefer it black when I’m eating something sweet.

Anyway, the addiction to coffee never ceased in my childhood nor since, and now that I’m in my early late twenties, apparently the addiction is still blazing bright.

Coffee is also supposed to be beneficial to the liver. This makes sense- coffee has a sobering effect, making one more alert, more awake, and more efficient. Alcohol has the opposite effect, slowing one down and impairing various mental functions- and it can be damaging to the liver. Interesting how the opposite effects both correlate to either benefitting or afflicting the liver.

So, the point of this blog: Gigi bought me an enormous coffee cup two years ago for my birthday, the same time I got my fantastic MacBook that I still adore to this day. The coffee cup holds not one, not two, but three cups worth and has a fantastic artistic design on it that’s faded over the years. I still use this coffee cup to this day and absolutely love it; on the inside rim, it says, “Javalicious.”

True, true.

Also, coffee has other effects- it can help a mild headache, serve as a mild laxative, and be a mood booster.

Coffee’s definitely a mood booster for me. Not having coffee renders the lives of those around me in to great peril, and small woodland creatures as a whole may find themselves suddenly extinct if they come to close.

How do you like your coffee? Dark or sweet? And how much do you drink?

Beaux


 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 18, 2011 in food, postaday, postaday2011

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Big Coffee

  1. Gigi

    May 18, 2011 at 9:22 pm

    Yes indeed. Love my coffee. Daily. All Day Long !!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
